Search this blog

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Trinamul Registers Emphatic Win in English Bazaar

MALDA, 28 FEB: Despite performing miserably in by-poll of two remaining assembly constituencies, Trinamul Congress has registered an emphatic win in English Bazaar today. State tourism minister and Trinamul candidate in English Bazaar has won by a massive margin of 20,452 votes against his nearest rival of the CPI-M Koushik Mishra. Interestingly, in the prestige fight in English Bazaar, Congress candidate Narendranath Tiwary stood poor third.

Since the counting commenced in English Bazaar amid tight security today from 8 am, Krishnendu Choudhury started going ahead of his rivals from the first round and his differences with other candidates started widening in the subsequent rounds. Confident Mr Choudhury came out of the counting hall after each round was complete when he could distinctly smell the victory.

In first few rounds, when the votes of rural areas of the constituency were being counted, Mr Choudhury was contesting with Mr Tiwary. However, though the Congress leaders expected that they would obtain convincing votes in rural areas to give Mr Choudhury a tough fight, it was seen that Mr Choudhury remained ahead of the Congress even in the rural areas.

Gradually, CPI-M got back to the fight when the votes of the urban areas were being counted. They pushed the Congress back to the third position but could not surpass Mr Choudhury in any round. Even in the municipal wards popularly known as the CPI-M bastion in English Bazaar, Trinamul Congress bagged huge number of votes.

Interestingly, BJP that is believed to have around 10 percent vote in English Bazaar did extremely poor this time and in some booths they positioned even behind two independent candidates.

The returning officer and sub divisional officer – sadar Pushpendu Mitra officially declared the final result at around 12.30 pm. He declared that Trinamul’s Mr Choudhury had won by a margin of 20,452 votes. In total Mr Choudhury has got 70791 votes including 31 postal ballots.

Mr Mishra of the CPI-M got 50,339 votes including 56 postal ballots and Mr Tiwary got 45,271 including 05 postal ballots. BJP’s Sanjit Mishra got only 9,442 votes with no postal ballot.
It may be mentioned that Mr Choudhury as the Congress – Trinamul alliance candidate defeated CPI-Min 2011 by 21,829 votes in direct fight. But in triangular fight this time also he has retained almost the same margin which is particularly significant according to the political observers.

No comments:

Post a Comment