Search this blog

Monday, February 23, 2015

Dissident TMC leaders revolt against new committees in the district

Malda,22 February, 2015: Dissidence has severely erupted among the senior Trinamul Congress leaders within 72 hours of declaration of the new block committes in the district. Irked after being replaced at least five former block Trinamul presidents have virtually declared war against the district leadership.

They are now getting ready to ventilate their grudges to party's observer for district Subhendu Adhikari seeking his intervention to set the Trinamul in order in Malda.

Former Trinamul president of Kaliachak III block Nalep Ali, who has been replaced by Naliniranjan Sarkar, said, "I started organizing Trinamul at all 225 booths of 14 gram panchayats in Baishnabnagar. I wonder if such organizing skill demoted me. The profile of the new president is too ordinary and grass root workers are losing morale. I would convey their frustrations to Mr Subhendu Adhikari soon."

Baishisthya Trivedi, the axed block Trinamul president of Old Malda too  has reacted strongly after Bibhuti Ghosh has been nominated as the new president of Old Malda municipal areas and Jahar Ghosh was given charge for the rural areas. "I am the oldest soldier of the party here. But those leaders who joined the Trinamul merely few months back have been made the leadrs. Common party workers have already started demonstrating against such a detrimental decision. I would pass on their disgust to Subhendu Adhikari," Mr Trivedi said.

Former block president of Harischandrapur II block Tobarak Hossain, Chanchal II former president Prasanta Das, former president of Chanchal I block Mohammed Samim too have revolted against their replacements - Dr Saidur Rahman, Abdul Hai and Mojahar Hossain respectively.

While Tobarak Hossain claimed that a homeopathic physician Dr Rahman would hardly be able to sustain Trinamul organization, Mr Das and Mr Samim questioned the skill of their successors in leading the party as block presidents. They also warned that party might face severe outburst of dissidence from booth level workers if the district leadership banked on their new choices.

The district Trinamul president Dr Moazzem Hossain declared the names of new block presidents on 20 February. Except Bamangola block and English Bazaar municipal area names of presidents and working presidents were approved by the state leadership as Dr Hossain claimed.

He however refused to pay any heed to the protesting former leaders. "The committees were formed with the approval of the state committee and the designated observer. Hence, all have to abide by the new leaders and any dissidence would be ignored," he said.

Two ministers from the district Krishnendu Choudhury and Sabitri Mitra, who are reportedly happy with the new committees after their loyalists found berths, said, Party's decision is final. Those who are protesting against new committees must not forget the party's discipline. Interestingly both the ministers consciously maintained distance from Dr Hossain till the latter reconstituted the block committees. However they have reportedly burry the hatchet being pleased with accommodation of their followers in the new block committees 

No comments:

Post a Comment