Search this blog

Monday, February 23, 2015

Five-member committee to lead TMC in EBM poll

Malda, 15 February, 2015: A five-member committee has been constituted for leading the Trinamul Congress in the district. Chief minister Mamata Banerjee herself nominated the members of the committee as learnt from party sources.

Along with two ministers Krishnendu Choudhury and Sabitri Mitra, district Trinamul president Dr Moazzem Hossain, district Trinamul working president Dulal Sarkar and district youth Trinamul president Amlan Bhaduri have found berth in the new committee.

A senior member of the committee informed that the committee was formed on 14 February by the party supremo Miss Banerjee herself. The observer of the party Subhendu Adhikari would meet the committee members on 19 February to review the political situation in Malda before the municipality election to be held on 25 April.

It has been learnt that the chief minister has tried to maintain a balance while forming the committee as Trinamul like other districts is divided in numerous factions in Malda as well.

It has been further observed by a senior district Trinamul Congress leader that the CM has also restricted the sovereignty of the minister and English Bazaar municipality (EBM) chairman Krishnendu Choudhury who led the party in the municipality with his singular skill so far.

It may be mentioned that there are 29 wards in EBM this time and four new wards have been created by breaking four old wards. It may be mentioned that BJP was ahead in 23 wards in EBM in the last Lok Sabha election. Hence, the ensuing municipality election is being regarded as an ordeal for the ruling party.

No comments:

Post a Comment